Self-love

What of love? Self love. There seems to be a lack of this here upon this plane.  Bigger, Better. Faster. Never good enough. Why do you doubt yourselves so much? Why do you judge yourselves so much?  Why are you not satisfied with who you are or what you have done?

Realize that if the intent behind your actions is pure, there can be no better result than what you see.  If the thoughts behind your words are pure, there is no better way to have spoken.  The perfection is already there in the moment, in the action, in the word, if it has come from your heart. 

To strive to walk in light is an admirable thing. And just as a child grows, so do you, as you chose to take this path.  But as with a child, there is a learning curve, a time to develop your self confidence, your trust in yourself and in the world around you.  Would you punish a child for doing their best, even if it was not the highest score, or the brightest smile?  No, you would encourage them and love them and support them on their way. 

So what of yourselves? Why do you judge, loathe and criticize constantly? Are you not still that child within? Do you not need love, encouragement and permission to test different paths? Why can you not continue to love that child within?

It appears easier for you to forgive a child. And so, start with that child within   Think back to a moment in your childhood that was difficult.  Now as the adult, hold that child self. Hug and comfort them. Allow your adult self to comfort your child self.  Talk with that child within. Forgive them, caress them and love them as they needed love in that moment.

Slowly move up to an older you, giving that self-love at every stage along the way.  Now do the same for that adult who also needs to know that he/she will be loved. No matter what happens.  Just as a child, your adult self needs this assurance.  Nothing has changed.  As you go through this process, you will begin to understand that you are still the same as that child. Constantly learning. Discovering different aspects of yourself.  Some that you would like to keep and others that you may want to discard. There is no reason to do this in any other way but with gentleness and love.

That child within is calling out for help. Give that help, love and forgiveness.  You may have wanted this love from others when you were younger.  But indeed, the most important person to receive that love from is yourself.  Go back and love that child as it wanted to be loved.  Only you know truly know how best to love that child. For that child is you.

And we shall help, should you forget that love fills your being at all times.  For that is who you truly are. Light. Love. Peace. Joy.  We can see that light wanting to burst forth, just waiting for the right moment.  Be of love. Forgive yourselves and see how you will shine.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the_tovarysh_connection
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 12:00:03

    I want to thank those of you who are following this blog and who have ‘liked’ these postings. The exercise mentioned in this particular writing is a very powerful one. I have done this over the course of a week or two before I go to sleep or during times of meditation. Starting at an age when I was an infant, and increasing the age every night a few years, until I reach my current age [for some of us that will take longer than others! ;-)] I think you will be surprised at the results you see from it. In light and love always.

    Reply

  2. Deborah Oster Pannell
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 17:15:36

    Another beautiful, gentle post that is so right on target. I love the energy that emanates from your writing. So loving, such a light touch. And yet your advice is so potent and vital. I know I am often quite hard on myself, and this can translate into being hard on my son. When I remember to be forgiving, it goes both ways, and we each benefit from the increased ease of communication between us.
    Thank you, again…

    Reply

  3. judithatwood
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 07:00:54

    I don’t even know exactly what to say. While I was reading this post, I looked for a time when I felt unloved. While I was thinking of one time, and comforting and loving that child, a flood of memories came to me — I saw years of mistakes, and even just times I was myself, to meet with punishment untempered by any kind of love. This will be a part of me, this loving and forgiving, for the rest of my days; blessings to you for re-introducing me to that unloved child. Thank you.

    Reply

    • the_tovarysh_connection
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 07:58:25

      When I finished writing this post, you were the first person I thought of. So glad this resonated with you. If you hadn’t seen my earlier comment on this post, it can be a powerful meditation as you go through various parts of your life. Your comment made my day. Thank you!!

      Reply

Please add your thoughts

